Driver's License Suspensions
Unlike many states, New Jersey doesn't have a Department of Motor Vehicles administrative process for suspending an accused drunk driver's license. It is the courts that order the license suspension. The length of the suspension depends on the facts of the case, including the driver's number of prior DWI / DUI convictions, and in the case of a first offense, the driver's blood alcohol content (BAC).
It's important to note that unlike many states, New Jersey does not allow restricted driver's licenses that allow motorists convicted of DWI / DUI to travel to work and other essential destinations.
Effective 12/1/2019, all DWI and Refusal convictions now require installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) in the car owned, leased, or principally operated by the motorist. Proof of IID installation is required to get driving privileges restored.DWI License Suspension Consequences
A driver convicted of a first offense New Jersey DWI / DUI with no BAC or a BAC of under 0.10 percent will lose his or her license until proof of installation of an IID is presented to the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), a $200 restoration fee is paid by the driver, and the driver gets a new picture ID with the word "INTERLOCK" written on it. The IID must remain installed for 3 months from the date of installation. For a motorist convicted of drunk driving with a BAC that is .10 percent but less than .15 percent, the IID must remain installed for 7 to 12 months from the date of installation. If the BAC is .15 percent or higher, there is a 4 to 6 month loss of license with mandatory installation of an IID during the suspension period, as well as for 9 to 15 months after the driver's license is restored.
A second driving under the influence conviction will result in a 1 to 2 year driver's license suspension, with mandatory IID for 2 to 4 years following the suspension. A third New Jersey DWI / DUI conviction will have an even more significant impact on the motorist's driving privileges - the driver's license will be suspended for 8 years, with mandatory IID for the 2 to 4 years following suspension.Refusal License Suspension Consequences
For a first offense Refusal conviction, an IID must remain installed for 9 to 15 months from the date of installation.
For a second offense Refusal conviction there is a 1 to 2 year license suspension and mandatory IID installation for 2 to 4 years after the suspension period.
A third offense Refusal conviction will result in an 8 year license suspension and mandatory IID installation for 2 to 4 years after the suspension period.
Because New Jersey DWI / DUI and Refusal convictions pose a serious threat to driving privileges, it's critical to have a knowledgeable and aggressive DWI defense lawyer protecting your rights. Please call Levow DWI Law, P.C. at (877) 593-1717 to discuss your NJ DWI / DUI arrest. We have an excellent track record in savings our clients' driving privileges. We offer a free consultation.