Fines and Surcharges
A New Jersey drunk driving conviction carries substantial punishment, including possible jail time, license restrictions, alcohol education classes, fines and surcharges. The fines, fees, and assessments levied after a New Jersey DWI conviction, total thousands of dollars. Because the repercussions of a driving under the influence conviction are so severe, it's important to aggressively fight the charges against you. A New Jersey DWI lawyer experienced in drunk driving defense will aggressively fight a NJ DWI / DUI charge with the goal of minimizing or even eliminating negative consequences.
The fine amount faced by a driver convicted of a DWI / DUI in New Jersey depends on the number of prior convictions the driver has accrued, and in some cases, on the motorist's blood alcohol content (BAC).First Offense
On a first-time driving while intoxicated charge, New Jersey makes a distinction based on the driver's BAC. A first offender with a BAC of .08 percent to .10 percent faces a fine of $250 to $400.
For a first offender with a BAC of .10 percent or greater, the driver faces a fine of $300 to $500.
In addition, New Jersey imposes various fees on convicted drunk drivers that add on another $325. Furthermore, convicted drivers must pay a surcharge to the Department of Motor Vehicles of $3,000 payable over three years. Once the insurance company that covers the driver discovers the conviction, the insurance company will additionally surcharge the driver a range of $3,000 to over $10,000.
In addition, all drivers convicted of DUI / DWI in New Jersey will be responsible for paying the cost of alcohol counseling classes and the installation of an ignition interlock device. There is an indigency provision for drivers who cannot pay for an ignition interlock device.Second Offense
A second offense New Jersey DWI conviction is punishable by a fine of $500 to $1,000, plus the fees and surcharges listed above.Third or Greater Offense
A driver convicted of a New Jersey DWI / DUI for a third time within 10 years faces a fine of $1,000, plus the charges listed above, with one exception - the DMV surcharge rises to $4,500 payable over three years.
The fines levied in New Jersey DWI cases can be devastating, so it's critical to have a skilled New Jersey DWI defense lawyer by your side, fighting for your rights, and armed with a comprehensive defense plan. These cases can be won. Although we cannot guarantee results, we have a proven track record of routinely winning cases, day in and day out.
Please call Levow DWI Law, P.C. today at (877) 593-1717, to discuss your case. We'd like to get started on your defense today!