Seeing blue lights approaching in your rearview mirror can unleash a whole host of emotions: fear, anxiety, uncertainty, and more. Will I lose my license? Will I have a criminal record? Is there anything that I can do? The answer to the last question is yes. You can and should consult a Jersey City DWI lawyer who devotes 100% of their practice to the defense of people facing DWI charges. At Levow DWI Law, P.C., we do not stand passively by the defendant's side as they enter a guilty plea. We fight passionately to keep convictions off our clients' records, and we have obtained thousands of dismissals in DWI cases throughout New Jersey.
You should not just settle for any DWI attorney. You should hire a "DWI attorney's attorney" to be by your side. Other DWI lawyers often consult Evan Levow for guidance on their cases, recognizing his comprehensive knowledge of this area of the law. For example, he is trained in the precise use of the breath testing equipment that police officers use during a DWI stop. He is also certified by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as a field sobriety testing instructor, meaning that he has the authority to train police officers how to administer the road side exercises you may have taken. Our firm has helped shape the trajectory of DWI law in New Jersey by winning a landmark victory in State v. Chun, which redefined the procedures related to breath testing devices. If you have been stopped on I-78, Route 9, Route 440, or any other highway or road in Jersey City, our knowledgeable DWI attorneys should be your first call.Defending a DWI Charge in New Jersey
The State of New Jersey uses a rigid threshold for DWI. If a driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or greater, they can be convicted of driving while intoxicated. If they are under the age of 21, there can be a conviction for a BAC as low as 0.01%. You may feel hopeless after a DWI stop, but you should know that the State has the burden of proving a defendant guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. Police and prosecutors rely heavily on equipment like breath testing devices to win drunk driving cases, but these machines do not always give accurate results. The device needs to be in proper working order and correctly calibrated to yield reliable results, and police officers must receive adequate training in how to administer the tests. Problems with any of these aspects of breath testing can result in a dismissal of the charges against you.
Our Jersey City DWI attorneys represent drivers in the Jersey City Municipal Court, which is located in the Lewis S. McRae Justice Complex at 365 Summit Avenue in Jersey City. Generally, business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. from Mondays to Thursdays (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Fridays), although times during which payments can be made or bail posted may differ. Since driving while intoxicated in New Jersey is considered a "motor vehicle offense," rather than a "criminal offense," most DWI cases are heard by a judge rather than by a jury. Even a first offense DWI conviction can result in jail for up to 30 days, mandatory loss of license, a minimum of $6,575 in fines and surcharges, an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 per year for three years, and other serious consequences. This makes it critical to hire an attorney who will investigate every possible angle of your case and develop a comprehensive defense.Schedule a Consultation with a Knowledgeable DWI Lawyer in Jersey City
Levow DWI Law, P.C. has helped shape the evolution of drunk driving defense in New Jersey. We have a longstanding professional commitment to the defense of people who have been accused of DWI, and our firm is at the forefront of the fight to protect the legal and constitutional rights of those arrested for drunk driving in New Jersey. To schedule a free consultation and to discuss how we can serve your needs, please call 877-593-1717 or contact us online.